Dan

Incarnata Soggetto Cavato

January 13

Dear Diary,

Mom gave me this weird paper diary 4 new year.
and showed how 2 like write in it. So weird!!!
can doodle too, like a tablet.
But old style! No auto correcting.
No help.

<picture of a unicorn>

In just 1 year, ill b able 2 pick a morph.
What will I turn in 2?
I’ll b lettin u no, diary!

Love,
Erwon

March 6

Dear Diary,

I forgot about you and never found time 2 write about stuff.

Mom and Dad are so reeeeee, and it’s like there never kids. Dad was sitting there last night reading a book on paper! Driving me crazy. Not complete ancient old time freaks though… like, Mom used 2 have fur and remember she’d get those cat whiskers and stuff? Sneaky.

Ok bye diary gotta go!

Love,
Erwon

June 13

Hey Diary!

Classes kinda boring me, so I whined a bunch and Mom dumped out our old pile of ancient books 2 read. I mean, akchu onpaper antiques leaving ink smudges on yer hands and stuff. Jank. Girls back then were out worrying about looks cuz they were stuck with one look for all history.

No morphs, they were totally like frozen! Acne was some weird disease where your face “broke out” and turned all grod, and then nothing you did would help. And all the girls in the Babysitters Club worried about ppl finding out their secrets, but their secrets are boring and stupid.

I’d go crazy probably if my life was that old boring and awful.

But if I was stuck in one body my whole life, would def be there with them crying all about it on the “phone”, haha. Anyways what were phones, like a presence that was only voice? I just checked wiki so I guess I cheated that one.

All those ppl back then, so many stuck, like me right now, but soon I get 2 choose from billions of morph options! Oh mngs!

Later!!
Erwon

October 18

Dear diary,

This really has been ways 2 long of a break between my writing in here. Makes me feel silly kinda but oh well.

New school classes I’m in have other kids in them. Well it’s a trick 2 say it like that because we’re not in a shared fizz classroom like the Babysitter Club is in their stories, that’s so weird. I only get 2 meet kids from our cube, they’re all 2 old and already morphed and it makes me all jelly.

Anyway it would def not be very easy cuz all the kids would hafta ride 2 the same fizz spot in bubbles (big bubbles used 2 be called “buses”, I learned that from Nancy Drew) and all that traffic would probly just totally break our roads and stuff.

Anyways Kat at school was tellin me what she is gonna morph, she must be mug crazy cuz she wants 2 go full Cthulhu with tentacle mouth. You can practice and learn how 2 control different limbs and symms in V, but… jank.

I think I want 2 go more on the simpler side at first. Something animal, like real life. Something tied 2 what I’m all about u know?

In today’s group project, cuz we finished it so ding fast, Kat started blibbering about encryption and protocols and stuff. She’s smart, but kinda crazy. Like a Cthulhu worshiping version of Nancy Drew 2 update the ancient detective, u know?

Anyways. What else is new diary?? Oh, it’s the same, u know… Mom is still weird and neurotic and she has super long bendy arms now. Like, why, Mom? Who does that even? Kids do that, that’s who. U know you’re trying 2 hard when even Dad and me can see through it. Yeeks.

Not much else is new 2 report I guess though. Wondering what the deal is with all these girls in the antique books freaking out about boys. Boys are 2 stupid and just jank. I don’t get it. Maybe it’ll come with my first morph. Mom says trust my instincts. Golly gee willikers, 2 use a phrase from her time. THANKS MOM.

Erwon

November 9

Dear Diary,

The authors of all those old super wrong scifi stories that Dad loves 2 read all the time, they never really guessed that people would choose 2 feed their raw desires into their body plans like us now.

Shapes we choose for our first morph are just the start of life. What will I all become? I can barely guess at what path lies ahead. I’m so excited, I can’t decide what my first morph will be!

When I V into school on my birthday, dang, maybe all of my friends will see me with an owl’s spooky face and an elephant trunk. And it will be real, I won’t be playing a dumb avatar prank, we are talking about the real thing! I am still on sure what 2 pick, though. So many ways 2 be, I’m ragged for the possibilities and all them future shapes that run all through my dreams now.

Good news tho: Mom’s normal cat arms now.

Reeee!
Erwon

December 4

Dear Diary,

Got 2 remember that help full hint text from my good friend Kat about hang outs after we finish with class on Fridays!

Maybe I and her friends can sneak some V hide and seek with keys taken from with in when Mom lets my avatar play with morph previews!

Mom’s got code, she thinks its easy to block kids for fun things. Stops me from getting all 2 into trouble. But right now its I and Kat, no foolin, we’d stay out of completely crazy places and hidden spots and bad messages.

Erwon

January 12

Dear diary,

This is the big day, finally finally! It’s my birthday 2morrow! That is the day, you know what that means… I’m finally allowed for the first morph!

I kinda can’t believe everything that happened in the last year u know? Dang! It’s really really weird 2 read my message from the start. I was so ding yung, haha. Now I’m here. I’m five years old now. And Mom and Dad told me they will let me choose whatever I want cuz I was so will behaved! Yeah!!

Being a nerd pays off, sides, I like 2 learn anyways, it’s fun. I think I’m gon 2 keep going now, that seems like smart u know, keep ahead of all the other kids in classes and become a future knowledge queen! Mom and dad are proud of me and that is so mug. Makes me sad still when I “disappoint” them like Dad says but lately I’m like fountains of good energy and they say so!

Mom is worried ahead of time about what morphs I pick and my general “body plan curiosity” as she calls it, lul. I am a good girl tho and she has no reason 2 worry, diary!

Now it’s almost time, we gotta go get ready 4 the morph inject. Oh boy, I will be in a different body soon! I am the luckiest girl unearth.

Since I’m all groaned up now I won’t need a diary their in my bright shiny future.

I think I’m done writing my secrets in you, diary. For now.

I’m gonna become more… OWLY!

Bye,
Erwon


Note for the Reader

Although later passages in the diary of Erwon Smith are not as easily decrypted, these early entries contain easily-decipherable hidden messages which clearly relate to her later whistle-blowing actions. The simple word cipher in these early entries relies on skipping every N words, based on the day of the month of the entry. The opening is ignored up to the comma for this counting cipher.

It is unknown if the very first entry contains hidden text, but the remainder of those reprinted here have been culled from entries which do. Here, for your convenience, we reprint the text with the subtext emphasized:


March 6

Dear Diary,

I forgot about you and never found time 2 write about stuff.

Mom and Dad are so reeeeee, and it’s like there never kids. Dad was sitting there last night reading a book on paper! Driving me crazy. Not complete ancient old time freaks though… like, Mom used have fur and remember she’d get those cat whiskers and stuff? Sneaky.

Ok bye diary gotta go!

Love,
Erwon

June 13

Hey Diary!

Classes kinda boring me, so I whined a bunch and Mom dumped out our old pile of ancient books 2 read. I mean, akchu onpaper antiques leaving ink smudges on yer hands and stuff. Jank. Girls back then were out worrying about looks cuz they were stuck with one look for all history.

No morphs, they were totally like frozen! Acne was some weird disease where your face “broke out” and turned all grod, and then nothing you did would help. And all the girls in the Babysitters Club worried about ppl finding out their secrets, but their secrets are boring and stupid.

I’d go crazy probably if my life was that old boring and awful.

But if I was stuck in one body my whole life, would def be there with them crying all about it on the “phone”, haha. Anyways what were phones, like a presence that was only voice? I just checked wiki so I guess I cheated that one.

All those ppl back then, so many stuck, like me right now, but soon I get 2 choose from billions of morph options! Oh mngs!

Later!!
Erwon

October 18

Dear diary,

This really has been ways 2 long of a break between my writing in here. Makes me feel silly kinda but oh well.

New school classes I’m in have other kids in them. Well it’s a trick 2 say it like that because we’re not in a shared fizz classroom like the Babysitter Club is in their stories, that’s so weird. I only get 2 meet kids from our cube, they’re all old and already morphed and it makes me all jelly.

Anyway it would def not be very easy cuz all the kids would hafta ride 2 the same fizz spot in bubbles (big bubbles used be called “buses”, I learned that from Nancy Drew) and all that traffic would probly just totally break our roads and stuff.

Anyways Kat at school was tellin me what she is gonna morph, she must be mug crazy cuz she wants 2 go full Cthulhu with tentacle mouth. You can practice and learn how 2 control different limbs and symms in V, but… jank.

I think I want 2 go more on the simpler side at first. Something animal, like real life. Something tied 2 what I’m all about u know?

In today’s group project, cuz we finished it so ding fast, Kat started blibbering about encryption and protocols and stuff. She’s smart, but kinda crazy. Like a Cthulhu worshiping version of Nancy Drew update the ancient detective, u know?

Anyways. What else is new diary?? Oh, it’s the same, you know… Mom is still weird and neurotic and she has super long bendy arms now. Like, why, Mom? Who does that even? Kids do that, that’s who. U know you’re trying 2 hard when even Dad and me can see through it. Yeeks.

Not much else is new 2 report I guess though. Wondering what the deal is with all these girls in the antique books freaking out about boys. Boys are stupid and just jank. I don’t get it. Maybe it’ll come with my first morph. Mom says trust my instincts. Golly gee willikers, 2 use a phrase from her time. THANKS MOM.

Erwon

November 9

Dear Diary,

The authors of all those old super wrong scifi stories that Dad loves 2 read all the time, they never really guessed that people would choose 2 feed their raw desires into their body plans like us now.

Shapes we choose for our first morph are just the start of life. What will I all become? I can barely guess at what path lies ahead. I’m so excited, I can’t decide what my first morph will be!

When I V into school on my birthday, dang, maybe all of my friends will see me with an owl’s spooky face and an elephant trunk. And it will be real, won’t be playing a dumb avatar prank, we are talking about the real thing! I am still on sure what 2 pick, though. So many ways be, I’m ragged for the possibilities and all them future shapes that run all through my dreams now.

Good news tho: Mom’s normal cat arms now.

Reeee!
Erwon

December 4

Dear Diary,

Got 2 remember that help full hint text from my good friend Kat about hang outs after we finish with class on Fridays!

Maybe and her friends can sneak some V hide and seek with keys taken from with in when Mom lets my avatar play with morph previews!

Mom’s got code, she thinks its easy to block kids for fun things. Stops me from getting all into trouble. But right now its I and Kat, no foolin, we’d stay out of completely crazy places and hidden spots and bad messages.

Erwon

January 12

Dear diary,

This is the big day, finally finally! It’s my birthday 2morrow! That is the day, you know what that means… I’m finally allowed for the first morph!

I kinda can’t believe everything that happened in the last year u know? Dang! It’s really really weird 2 read my message from the start. I was so ding yung, haha. Now I’m here. I’m five years old now. And Mom and Dad told me they will let me choose whatever I want cuz I was so will behaved! Yeah!!

Being a nerd pays off, sides, I like 2 learn anyways, it’s fun. I think I’m gon 2 keep going now, that seems like smart u know, keep ahead of all the other kids in classes and become a future knowledge queen! Mom and dad are proud of me and that is so mug. Makes me sad still when I “disappoint” them like Dad says but lately I’m like fountains of good energy and they say so!

Mom is worried ahead of time about what morphs I pick and my general “body plan curiosity” as she calls it, lul. I am a good girl tho and she has no reason 2 worry, diary!

Now it’s almost time, we gotta go get ready 4 the morph inject. Oh boy, I will be in a different body soon! I am the luckiest girl unearth.

Since I’m all groaned up now I won’t need a diary their in my bright shiny future.

I think I’m done writing my secrets in you, diary. For now.

I’m gonna become more… OWLY!

Bye,
Erwon

Standard